Topological Phases

The 2016 Nobel in Physics goes to (NYT):

David J. Thouless, F. Duncan M. Haldane and J. Michael Kosterlitz were awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics on Tuesday for discoveries in condensed-matter physics that have transformed the understanding of matter that assumes strange shapes. All three were born in Britain but work in the United States.

It might be the Nobel Committee's way of finessing the problem of exactly whom should receive the Nobel for discovery of gravitational waves. It's a tested Nobel tactic - wait until the extras die.

UPDATE: Lumo has some background.


Popular posts from this blog

Left, Right and Indian


Diversity Wars